Old Loves

This summer I am teaching in a resource style classroom.  As a part of this experiment we have talked about the things that we love and why it is important to explore what makes us happy (regardless of others opinions of it).  One kiddo asked what is something I really like, and I heard myself say cooking.  Which is true, but I haven’t cooked a true meal in months.  I have thrown together things with pre-made/cut ingredients, but it has been too long since I cooked everything from scratch.

I learned how to cook in Nepal, a place where pre-packaged meals were too expensive for a JV budget, and it quickly went from stressful, to fun.  I had grand plans of meals I would cook when I got home, but ended up picking it up and then stopping many times over (even attempted a blog about a different Joy of Cooking recipe).

But now that I am no longer in school, want  need to be healthy, and have the ability, I think it is time to return to an old love of mine.

So last week on a nice summer night (read not aggressively hot), I rolled up my sleeves and cooked dinner for Ryan and myself.  I knew I wanted something that wouldn’t require the oven too much and would be fresh.  So I updated a go-to in my weekly rotation: Burrito Bowls.  It’s a super simple recipe and the best part is, you can add whatever you want!

IMG_20160622_192527

Mine always includes the same things:

  • Red Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • A Veggie of some sort (this time leftover cabbage and red peppers)
  • Morningstar Spicy Black Bean burger (usually 2)
  • Guacamole (which I finally made from scratch again: avocado, red onion, tomato, dried red pepper, lemon juice, and salt, all mashed together)
  • Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Quinoa

IMG_20160622_184410

Voila! It is a tasty, easy delicious dinner.  Best part is, the only cooking necessary is the quinoa so it doesn’t heat up a hot apartment…..no AC, no bueno.

IMG_20160622_174144

I also went back to my second love, baking!  I am much more comfortable exploring in the baking realm, and made a this delicious crumble.  Top with some vanilla frozen yogurt, some b-day candles, and you’ve got a wonderful birthday dessert.

IMG_20160622_201108

Plus getting to enjoy this all with this guy isn’t too bad either.

 

Old Loves

Leave a Reply

